STESA Hosts 12th Annual Chocolate de Vine Fundraiser Virtually Featuring Founder of ‘me too’, Tarana Burke

By Giving List Staff   |   April 28, 2021

Each year, Standing Together to End Sexual Assault (STESA) hosts a fundraiser celebrating two luxurious consumables: chocolate and wine. This year’s Chocolate de Vine fundraiser will take place over live-stream on May 14, 2021 from 5:30-6:30 p.m. Donations and sponsorships from this event contribute to STESA’s work to provide services to survivors of sexual assault and their loved ones, and prevent sexual assault from occurring in the community. This year’s celebration of wine and chocolate features an exciting opportunity drawing, tiered ticketing and sponsorship options, and a Fireside Chat and Q&A with activist and founder of the ‘me too’ movement, Tarana Burke. 

Tarana Burke has created, led and participated in various campaigns focused on interrupting sexual violence and other systemic inequalities disproportionately impacting marginalized people, particularly Black women and girls, as well as increasing access to resources and support for impacted communities. Guests have an opportunity to submit questions for Tarana on the ticket purchase form.

This year’s opportunity drawing prize is a portrait couture makeover experience with local, award-winning photographer, Lucia Kiel. The winner of the drawing and a guest of their choosing will enjoy professional hair & makeup artistry, style & concept consultation, and a fully guided magazine style photoshoot, plus a $1,000 image credit, bringing the total prize value to $1,800.

Tickets for Chocolate de Vine can be purchased on the event website, linked here. The “M&Ms” level, which includes an access link to the event, is $25. The “White Chocolate” level, which includes an access link to the event and premium chocolate, is $100. Additional sponsorship levels, which include different amounts of premium chocolate, wine, and commemorative glasses, range from $250-$5000.

Standing Together to End Sexual Assault (STESA) provides a 24-hour bilingual hotline (805-564-3696), confidential counseling and support services to survivors of sexual assault and their loved ones. Through education and awareness, STESA is committed to change the cultural norms that enable sexual assault to exist. Our service area extends from Carpinteria to the Santa Ynez Valley.


Standing Together to End Sexual Assault (STESA)
Phone: (805) 963-6832 ext 15
Executive Director: Elsa Granados


Standing Together to End Sexual Assault (STESA) – Formerly the Santa Barbara Rape Crisis Center, empowers people through healing and social change to eliminate all forms of sexual violence. We are committed to transforming lives by providing services and education to meet the needs of our diverse community.

Begin to Build a Relationship

We know you care about where your money goes and how it is used. Connect with this organization’s leadership in order to begin to build this important relationship. Your email will be sent directly to this organization’s Director of Development and/or Executive Director.

Do Something Big

Granados has come to know the stigma that sexual assualt survivors face in a strangely institutional way: leasing office space.
She recalls trying to lease an office at Mission and State. The landlord said they could rent it but couldn’t put their name on the building directory. At the time STESA was called the Santa Barbara Rape Crisis Center. When Granados asked how a client might find them, the landlord told her she could put up signage as long as the center dropped the word crisis.
“No,” Granados quipped. “We can’t be called the Santa Barbara Rape Center. We aren’t raping anyone.”
Another landlord ended a lunch meeting with a rape joke. “It was right there in my face – the stigma that sexual assault survivors face.”
More than forty years in, and Granados knows it’s time for STESA to buy office space of its own.
STESA is looking to raise $2 million to build a dedicated space to combat sexual violence of all kinds.

Board of Directors

Lindsay Walter, President
Jacqueline Duran, Vice President
Ethan Bertrand, Secretary
Tina Wooton, Treasurer
Sarah Ali Khan
Cameron Goodman
Patricia Guillen
Adrian Gutierrez
Teri Jory
Stacey Risotti